TG-1 * Transgallaxys Forum 1

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Wie man ein Geist wird  (Read 300 times)

Julian

• Boltbender
Wie man ein Geist wird
« on: August 28, 2011, 10:00:59 PM »

[*quote*]
Being the Ghost in the Machine: A Medical Ghostwriter's Personal View

Linda Logdberg*

Linda Logdberg worked full- or part-time as a medical writer and was paid by medical communications companies from 1991 until 2006. Most of this work was under contract with pharmaceutical, biomedical, or medical device companies. She is presently employed as a high school science teacher and does not have any financial links to pharmaceutical, biomedical, or device manufacturers.
[...]

For almost 11 years, I worked as a medical writer, creating a variety of pieces including the occasional ghostwritten article. For the most part, I never saw the finished paper, nor did I care to. This article describes what I did, why I did it, why I stopped doing it, and what I think might be done about the problem of fraud in authorship.

What I Did

In line with the description on the American Medical Writers' Association Web site about what medical writers do [1], I wrote slide kits, monographs, executive summaries, journal articles, backgrounders, newsletters, competitive analyses, publication plans, video scripts, audio scripts, and continuing medical education (CME) programs for physicians and nurses. Each piece (“job”, in advertisingspeak) was born out of the publications planning strategy developed for a fee by the medical education (meded) company for the pharmaceutical corporation.